APPLE NEWS

Here’s when you can download macOS Monterey


Apple’s official public announcement of macOS Monterey is set to take place on Monday, Oct. 25, just days after Apple announced another release candidate for developers and a week after the “Unleashed” media event.

Developers are busy completing their apps to take advantage of new features in “MacOS Monterey” and support new MacBook Pro models with Apple’s new premium M1 Pro and “M1” Max chips and notched screen, and many users will ask to update their Macs as soon as Monterey is available. .

Although Apple has not shared the exact time for the release of “MacOS Monterey,” we can make some educated guesses based on Apple’s localized locations for different countries and past releases.

While Apple lists the release date as October 25 in much of the world, localized sites for some Eastern Hemisphere countries list the launch date as October 26, because the launch time will come at or after midnight in those countries.

Namely, Apple states the date of publication on October 25 on its Indian website, while the Thai site states the date of publication on October 26.

Given that the two countries are 90 minutes apart in time zones, this fixes things relatively narrowly, pointing to a window between 8:30 and 10:00 Pacific time. The most likely release time in that window would be 10:00 Pacific time, which is the usual release time for Apple. The release at the time would correspond to 10:30 pm on October 25 in India and midnight on October 26 in Thailand. This same method accurately predicted release times for a number of major operating system updates from Apple, including macOS Big Sur last year.

It’s worth noting that Apple’s release times sometimes vary slightly, and it can take a while for updates to spread to Apple’s servers and become available to all users, so a 10:00 estimate is simply that – an estimate.

Apple also announced that it will release iOS 15.1, iPadOS 15.1, watchOS 8.1, tvOS 15.1 and HomePod software 15.1 during the week of October 25, but the company does not appear to have specified an exact day for those releases. There are some cross-platform features that mean it would make sense for Apple to release all of its updates at the same time, but we’ll have to wait and see what Apple’s plans are.

Of course, there is no guarantee that Apple will adhere to its usual release time with “MacOS Monterey”, but given our best assumption of the release at 10:00 Pacific time, here’s a breakdown of what it corresponds to in other time zones in the United States and around the world. :

  • Honolulu, Hawaii – 7:00 a.m. HST
  • Anchorage, Alaska – 9:00 AKDT
  • Cupertino, CA – 10:00 PDT
  • Vancouver, Canada – 10:00 PDT
  • Phoenix, Arizona – 10:00 MST
  • Denver, Colorado – 11:00 MDT
  • Chicago, Illinois – 12:00 p.m. CDT
  • New York, NY – 13:00 EDT
  • Toronto, Canada – 1:00 PM EDT
  • Halifax, Canada – 14:00 ADT
  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil – 14:00 GRT
  • London, United Kingdom – 18:00 BST
  • Berlin, Germany – 19:00 CEST
  • Paris, France – 19:00 CEST
  • Cape Town, South Africa – 7:00 PM SAST
  • Helsinki, Finland – 8:00 PM EEST
  • Moscow, Russia – 20:00 Moscow time
  • Istanbul, Turkey – 20:00 TRT
  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates – 9:00 PM GST
  • Delhi, India – 10:30 PM IST
  • Jakarta, Indonesia – 12:00 midnight WIB the next day
  • Shanghai, China – 1:00 AM CST the next day
  • Singapore – 1:00 SGT the next day
  • Perth, Australia – 1:00 AWST the next day
  • Hong Kong – 01:00 HKT the next day
  • Seoul, South Korea – 2:00 a.m. KST the next day
  • Tokyo, Japan – 2:00 a.m. JST the next day
  • Brisbane, Australia – 3:00 PM Eastern Standard Time the next day
  • Adelaide, Australia – 3:30 a.m. ACDT the next day
  • Sydney, Australia – 4:00 a.m. AEDT the next day
  • Auckland, New Zealand – 6:00 a.m. by NZDT the next day

‌MacOS Monterey‌ is compatible with many Macs that could run macOS Big Sur, but is giving up support for some older MacBook Air and iMac models from 2013 and 2014, as well as for the 2015 MacBook. Compatible machines are listed below:

  • In early 2016 and later a MacBook
  • In early 2015 and later, MacBook Air
  • In early 2015 and later the MacBook Pro
  • In late 2015 and later ‌iMac‌
  • 2017 and later ‌iMac‌ Pro
  • In late 2014 and later the Mac mini
  • In late 2013 and later Mac Pro

For all the details on what’s new in MacOS Monterey, be sure to check out our review, which offers a detailed overview of key application updates, visual changes, and other new features.





Source link

Naveen Kumar

Friendly communicator. Music maven. Explorer. Pop culture trailblazer. Social media practitioner.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button